11
Oct
06

Hilton Harrisburg’s Cigar Dinner

 cigar1mf3.jpg

“The cigar is the perfect complement to an elegant lifestyle.”
      — George Sand

The first Hilton cigar night was soft and cool, with Steve Rudolph on the jazz keyboard.

(Name everyone in the Mike Fernandez photo above and win a Don Lino cigar at RAE’s Tobacco … on me.)

Executive chef John Reis organized the hors d’oeuvres buffet at the Outdoor Grill as kitchen staff put together the centerpiece appetizer of grilled chicken, shrimp and scallops in an adjoining tent. Al Baker of RAE’s Tobacco sold Africas and Auroras at a side table. Paul Flores of Miami Cigar Company rolled cigars with the Cuban pigtail, by hand.

Grilled New York strip steak was the main plat, served with a booming Plaisir de Merle Cabernet Sauvignon. It was an easy, talky night.

cigar2mf3.jpg” When I’m sitting with a cigar smoker, face to face, I can have a good long conversation.”

— Ginny Roth, PPOS

1 Response to “Hilton Harrisburg’s Cigar Dinner”


  1. December 25, 2013 at 1:58 am

    Hello I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really found you by mistake, while I was
    looking on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say
    kudos for a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it
    all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic
    work.


Leave a Reply

RSS

email news and reviews to:

paddydear@epix.net or pcarroll@patriot-news.com

Bonjour!

In culinary school and getting ready to trade the writing life for the cooking life. Or not. Might do both. At the moment I'm a feature writer for The Patriot-News in Harrisburg, Pa. My name is Pat Carroll.

